For Immediate Release

December 19, 2001

Library Trustees
Retire from Service

During the December 2001 Library Board of Trustees meeting, Patti Carlin Monroe and Kim Martin Shaffer were recognized for six years of dedicated service to the board. Each was presented with an engraved timepiece. Both had served as chairman of the board for two years during their tenure.

Kim Martin Shaffer (lt) and Patti Carlin Monroe (rt)During the presentation, both commented about their experiences and their expectations for the future of the board and of the library:

Excerpted comments on retiring from the Library Board of Trustees

Ms. Monroe’s Comments:

During her tenure as Board Chair, the Trustees “turned dirt and cut ribbons,” she said, as three library branches were opened during this time – North Regional in 1998; East Regional and Spring Lake Branches in 1999.

When first asked to serve, Patti asked herself “why”? . . and then the “troubles began” (referring to the book challenges in 1999-2000). She said she realized she could defend the library publicly and “do something about it.”

She’s learned that “you can serve; you can have fun; you can still provide the county with leadership and be able to make a difference in people’s lives if you’re willing to do it.”

She enjoined each one of the Trustees with this sole charge: “Don’t lose sight of the larger vision – we’re here to serve for the future – tomorrow. We’re a strong county; we can recover and grow. We have so much potential. Don’t lose sight of this – our children will have a place to read and learn. Keep the long vision of building the western branch – I’ll haunt you [about getting it built],” she concluded.

Ms. Shaffer’s comments:

“This Board is like America – different skin colors; different genders; different political philosophies. Yet we come to talk about the business of the library and decide what’s best for this county.”

Patti Carlin Monroe Term of Service
Board Chair
6 years
Kim Martin Shaffer Term of Service
Board Chair
6 years
  Recipient – North Carolina Trustee of the Year – 2000

Return to top of page