Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

Diversity Equity and Inclusion Committee


The Cumberland County Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Advisory Committee held its first meeting on Sept. 11 at the Department of Social Services. The committee’s purpose is to advise and guide County government to ensure integration of diversity, equity and inclusion with the County’s mission, operations, strategies and business objectives. 

Twenty-two employees were selected to serve on the committee. DSS Director Brenda Jackson and Finance Director Vicki Evans, the County’s General Managers, are serving as the co-conveners.  
The DEI will review Cumberland County Government programs, policies and initiatives and make recommendations to County Management and the Board of County Commissioners in support of diversity, equity and inclusion in the workplace. They will also develop a strategic plan focused on advancing diversity, equity and inclusion in the areas of policy, training, staff recruitment and retention, internal operations and community outreach/engagement. 

Pictured above
Top row: Duane Holder, Amy Cannon, Brenda Jackson, Denise Schunk. Next from top: Timothy Middleton (yellow shirt), Vicki Evans, Hardin Brown Jr., Ricky Hair, Alvin Chestnut, Tracy Jackson, Vincent Evans, Sally Shutt. Middle steps: Mia Kaleiwahea-Perry, Alissa Brashear, Ivonne Mendez, Annie Thomas, Kelly Moore, Sara Reyes, Tye Vaught. Standing ground level: Garry Crumpler, Cheribeth Thomas, Al Florez, Cynthia McKinley, Dr. Jennifer Green, Nora Armstrong, Dr. April Kelly.


 Agendas   Meeting Notes
February 16, 2021 February 16, 2021
January 19, 2021  January 19, 2021


 Agendas  Meeting Notes
 December 15, 2020 December 15, 2020 
 November 17, 2020 November 17, 2020 
October 20, 2020  October 20, 2020 
September 25, 2020  September 25, 2020
September 18, 2020 September 18, 2020
September 11, 2020  September 11, 2020


Committee Members
Nora Armstrong Public Library
Anila Ashraf Department of Social Services
 Alissa Brashear Department of Social Services
 Hardin Brown Jr.  Sheriff’s Office
 Telise Chavis  Emergency Services
 Alvin Chestnut  Pretrial Services
 Garry Crumpler Emergency Services
 Vincent Evans Tax Administration 
 Al Florez  Information Services
 Jennifer Green  Public Health Director
 Ricky Hair  Facilities Maintenance 
 Mia Kaleiwahea-Perry Print, Mail & Design
 April Kelly Animal Services 
 Cynthia McKinley  Child Support
 Ivonne Mendez County Finance 
 Timothy Middleton  Solid Waste
 Kelly Moore  Tax Administration
 Sara Reyes  Public Health 
 Denise Schunk Department of Social Services  
 Annie Thomas  Public Health
 Tye Vaught Child Support 
 Jared White Public Library 



Contact Us

General Manager:
Brenda Jackson
General Manager:
Vicki Evans