Commissioner Bio

Charles Evans

Mailing Address:
PO Box 1829
Fayetteville, NC 28302
Term Expiration:
December 2022
Charles E. Evans was elected in 2010 and re-elected in 2014 and 2018 to the Cumberland County Board of Commissioners as an at-large representative.  His current term expires in 2022.  Mr. Evans served as the board’s vice chairman in 2017 and chairman in 2021.  He served two terms on the Fayetteville City Council from 2005-2009.

As a member of the Cape Fear Valley Hospital System Board of Trustees, he was appointed to the Ethics and Compliance Committee, Planning Committee, and Board Quality and Patient Safety Committee.

Mr. Evans was appointed to serve on the National Association of Counties Justice and Public Safety Steering Committee.  He is a current or former Board of Commissioner liaison to the Animal Control Board, Cumberland County Veterans Council, Mental Health Board, Senior Citizens Advisory Board, Transportation Advisory Committee, ABC Board, Parks and Recreation Advisory Board, Library Board of Trustees, Civic Center Commission, Cumberland Community Action Program and Homeless Committee. He served on the Cumberland County Policy and Facilities committees and was appointed to the Regional Land Use Advisory Commission and Social Services Board.  Evans is a former member of the City of Fayetteville Planning Board, Zoning Board and Parks and Recreation Advisory Board.   

Mr. Evans has been involved in various civic and professional associations to include the American Legion Post 202, Veterans of Foreign Wars Post 6018, Senior Democrats Association, Men’s Democratic Club and Order of the Elks. He was appointed to the N. C. African American Heritage Commission and as Senior Vice Chair of the Seventh Congressional District.  

Mr. Evans was elected to serve as 2nd Vice President of the N. C. Association of Black County Officials and moved up to serve an unexpired term as 1st Vice President.  He was elected in 2018 to serve a full term as 1st Vice President of the N. C. Association of Black County Officials and he was elected as President of the N. C. Association of Black County Officials in 2020.

Mr. Evans was presented the Ester Department/Mary McAllister Individual Award by the Fayetteville-Cumberland Human Relations Commission in 2018.

Mr. Evans was born in Fayetteville and attended Terry Sanford High School.  He is a 2019 graduate of Fayetteville Technical Community College. Mr. Evans is a disabled veteran and executive director of Life is Worth Living-Project Fresh Start.

Contact Us

117 Dick Street
Room 561
Fayetteville, NC 28301

Phone: 910-678-7771
Fax: 910-678-7770

Chairman: Charles Evans

Clerk to the Board:
Candice White            Email

Email all commissioners:     Email

Mailing Address:

PO Box 1829
Fayetteville, NC 28302-1829