News Releases

Board of Health Welcomes New Members at January Meeting

Jan 28, 2019

The Board of Health welcomed three new board members during its regular meeting Jan. 15. Sonja Council was appointed as a public representative, Dr. Cynthia McArthur-Kearney as the registered nurse representative and Dr. Olusola Ojo filled the pharmacist position. 

Dr. Connette McMahon was re-elected to serve as the chair for the Board of Health while nominations for the vice-chair remain open. The board presented Dr. McMahon with a Plaque in Recognition for her service as Board Chair in 2018.

The board approved fee change recommendations for the upcoming fiscal year. Recommended changes include the accepted Medicaid rate, Department of Social Services cost rate for drug screening and the call back fees associated with Environmental Health pool inspections.

The board also was presented with position requests for the next fiscal year including: two environmental health specialists to expand the food and lodging and onsite wastewater programs, two public health educators to provide evidence-based curriculum to teens to reduce teen pregnancy rates and sexually transmitted diseases and eight public health nurses to reduce the student-to-school health nurse ratio. 

In other business, the board:

  • Heard an update from the Health Director Search Committee; Developmental Associates has begun screening candidates for the next Health Director. Interviews will take place in February. 
  • Received departmental financial reports.
  • Received an update on North Carolina Medicaid transformation.
  • Was informed of the upcoming Legislative Delegation and Board of County Commissioners meeting on Feb. 11 and a Health Department all-staff meeting on Feb. 22. 

The next Board of Health meeting is Feb. 19. Meetings are held the third Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. in the 3rd floor Board Room of the Department of Public Health located at 1235 Ramsey St, Fayetteville. For more information, call 910-433-3705.