Room Occupancy

A 6% tax is imposed and levied on the gross receipts derived from the rental of an accommodation, and applies to any retailer with sales in Cumberland County subject to the sales tax imposed by the State of North Carolina under N.C.G.S. §105-164.4(a)(3). This tax is in addition to the combined state and local sales tax collected and remitted to the North Carolina Department of Revenue.

An accommodation is defined as a hotel room, motel room, residence, cottage, or a similar lodging facility for occupancy by an individual. The tax applies to accommodations rented to the same person for a period of less than 90 continuous days. Please read this Important Notice published by the NC Department of Revenue, which provides further details on the types of retailers and charges subject to the room occupancy tax.

The customer is charged the room occupancy tax as part of their total sale. The business collects the tax and holds it as a trustee for the county, then remits to the county monthly on or before the 20th day of the month following the month in which the tax accrues. For example, tax collected during the month of June must be reported and paid by July 20th.

The return may be filed by personal delivery to the office of the Tax Collector, located in the new courthouse, 117 Dick Street Suite 527, Fayetteville, or by mail to the Cumberland County Tax Collector, PO Box 449, Fayetteville, NC 28302-0449. Returns submitted by mail shall be deemed to be filed as of the date shown on the postmark affixed by the United States Postal Service. If no date is shown on the postmark, or if the postmark is not affixed by the United States Postal Service, the return shall be deemed to be filed when received in the office of the Tax Collector. A return must be filed monthly, even if there are no taxes due!

Failure to File Return - In case of failure to file any return on the date it is due, the county shall assess a penalty equal to 5% of the amount of the tax if the failure is for not more than one month, with an additional 5% for each additional month, or fraction thereof, until the return is filed. The penalty shall not exceed 25% of the tax.

Failure to Pay Tax When Due - In the case of failure to pay any tax when due, the county shall assess a penalty equal to 10% of the tax.

PLEASE NOTE: Closing, Transferring or Selling Business - The Tax Collector must be notified forty-eight (48) hours in advance of a change in address, or ownership, or if business operations cease!

Should you have any questions or require additional information, please contact our office at 910-678-7590 or by

View and Print:

Contact Us

County Courthouse
117 Dick Street, Room 530
Fayetteville, NC 28301

Phone:  910-678-7507
Fax: 910-678-7582

Administrator: Joe Utley
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 449
Fayetteville, NC 28302

Monday through Friday
8 a.m.-5 p.m.