News Release Full Story

289 Cases Reported, Commissioners Meet Monday

May 02, 2020

The Cumberland County Department of Public Health was notified today of three new positive cases of COVID-19, bringing the total number for Cumberland County residents to 289.

The Health Department is conducting contact tracing investigations and will notify any contacts who fall under the guidelines for additional monitoring and testing. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) defines a “close contact” as being within 6 feet for 10 minutes or more.

Face Coverings Required at Courthouse Starting Monday
Senior Resident Superior Court Judge James Ammons and Chief District Court Judge Edward Pone have issued an Administrative Order requiring everyone who enters the Judge E. Maurice Braswell Cumberland County Courthouse or who attends court proceedings at the Cumberland County Detention Center to wear protective face coverings until further notice. Courthouse security will begin enforcing the order at all entrances beginning Monday, May 4.

Commissioners Hold Regular Meeting Monday at 9 a.m.
Health Director Dr. Jennifer Green and Emergency Services Director Gene Booth will provide a COVID-19 update to the Cumberland County Board of Commissioners during their regular meeting at 9 a.m. Monday, May 4.

The board will also consider guidelines for a Small Business Resiliency Program developed by the Cumberland County Community Development Department to assist qualified local businesses that suffered economic hardship as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Cumberland County received an additional $509,194 in Community Development Block Grant funding from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development through the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act.

The program will target small businesses with 10 or fewer full-time equivalent employees by providing grants of up to $10,000 based on need.  The goal of the program is to assist businesses retain employees and maintain economic stability during the crisis.  The program application will be open to qualified businesses within the Cumberland County geographic service area, which includes the unincorporated areas of the county, as well as the towns of Eastover, Falcon, Godwin, Hope Mills, Linden, Spring Lake, Stedman and Wade. Applications will be reviewed based on the eligibility requirements established in HUD’s CDBG regulations and CCCD’s evaluation criteria.   

In order to comply with the Governor's Executive Order 121, Section 3.A.1., prohibiting more than 10 people gathering, this meeting will be available to the public and media live via the Cumberland County website at, the County’s Facebook page (, Youtube page (, and on the Fayetteville Cumberland Education Channel (FCE-TV) Spectrum Cable Channel 5. Several commissioners will be participating via teleconference. The agenda is available on the County’s website at