News Release Full Story

Commissioners Sworn In; Council Appointed Chairman

Dec 04, 2018

Four Cumberland County Commissioners took the oath of office Monday night during a special Board of Commissioners meeting held in the Crown Coliseum Ballroom. Glenn Adams, Jeannette Council, Charles Evans and Larry Lancaster were sworn in after they were all re-elected Nov. 6 in the Cumberland County general election.


Following the administration of the oaths, the new board, by a majority vote of 5 to 1, elected Jeannette Council to serve as chairman and Marshall Faircloth to serve as vice chairman for 2019. Commissioners Adams, Council, Evans, Faircloth and Lancaster voted in favor with Commissioner Michael Boose voting in opposition. Commissioner Jimmy Keefe was not in attendance


Adams and Council represent District 1. Evans and Lancaster are at-large commissioners. Lancaster served as chairman and Council served as vice chairman in 2018.


Adams is a Fayetteville lawyer who was first elected to the Board of Commissioners in 2014 and served as chairman in 2017. He was sworn in by Resident Superior Court Judge Gale M. Adams.


Council is a retired educator who was first appointed to the Board of Commissioners in 2000. She was elected as a District 1 representative in 2002 and has been re-elected every four years since. Council is serving her fourth term as chairman. Council was sworn in by District Court Judge Tiffany Whitfield.


Evans is serving his third term on the board. He is executive director of Life is Worth Living-Project Fresh Start. Evans was sworn in by Resident Superior Court Judge Gale M. Adams.


Lancaster is a retired educator and just completed a term as the board’s chairman. He was sworn in by

Senior Resident Superior Court Judge James Floyd Ammons Jr.


Lancaster reviewed County accomplishments and progress during his year as chairman and thanked the public, his fellow commissioners and County employees. Incoming Chairman Council presented Lancaster a plaque in recognition of his service.


Council outlined goals and priorities for the new year, which include three key priorities:


  • Eliminate the Policy, Finance and Facilities committee meetings, and instead have all seven commissioners meet monthly for an agenda review session. Council said the intent is for all seven commissioners to have the same knowledge about issues and items before regular meetings are held.


  • Set up a funding agreement with the Cumberland County Board of Education.


  • Focus on recruitment and retention of County employees.


The meeting will be available for viewing on the County’s YouTube channel, and will be re-broadcast on Fayetteville/Cumberland Educational TV (Spectrum Cable Channel 5) Wednesday at 7 p.m. and Friday at 10:30 a.m. and next week on Tuesday at 7 p.m., Thursday at 9 p.m. and Sunday at 12:30 p.m.