News Releases

Cumberland Community Selected for Opioid Crisis Support

Jun 05, 2018

Cumberland County and the City of Fayetteville are teaming up for an intensive two-year program to address the opioid crisis in our community through an initiative sponsored by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina (Blue Cross NC) and the UNC School of Government.

Blue Cross NC and the School of Government announced the $20,000 grant award in May. Cumberland County is one of 10 communities selected from 39 applications across the state. Each team, or “community,” comprises at least one North Carolina county and represents multiple departments, jurisdictions, and organizations addressing challenges posed by the opioid epidemic.

The project, coordinated through the School of Government’s ncIMPACT initiative, will complement health and policy efforts at the state and local levels by working with communities that are ready to implement best practices. Local governments are the front lines of policy implementation, and the School assists them through training, advising, and research.

The School of Government and Blue Cross NC will provide the following to each participating community: five regional forums at which teams will form goals, set implementation plans, collaborate across fields and jurisdictions, and learn from experts on opioid-related issues; School of Government support throughout the process; $10,000 to assist with the costs of hiring a community project manager; and $10,000 in implementation funding for the project.

“We are thankful for the opportunity to participate in this two-year process with the support from the School of Government.  We want to build on current programs and find new targeted strategies in the fight against opioids,” said County Manager Amy Cannon.

“This crisis is complex and reaches across many sectors in our community. This is a chance to bring a community team together to look at what is happening here and develop plans to address our specific needs,” said City Manager Doug Hewett.

 The community team will be comprised of representatives from the local governments, law enforcement, the court system, health professionals, educators, military, social services and other organizations.