News Releases

Commissioners Vote to Keep Current Human Services Structure

May 22, 2018

During their regular meeting on May 21, the Board of Commissioners decided to keep the current governance structure of Cumberland County’s health and human services agencies. The vote was 5-2 with commissioners Jimmy Keefe and Michael Boose voting in opposition.

Commissioners voted to maintain separate Social Services and Public Health departments with separate governing boards. The motion included the stipulation that the departmental directors work with County management on stronger collaboration efforts.

In other action, the board unanimously approved a funding award in the amount of $1,782,500 from the North Carolina Department of Public Safety for disaster recovery with a contingency of modifying a termination clause to require mutual consent. The funds will be used for acquisition, elevation, or mitigation reconstruction of 10 homes that were severely affected by Hurricane Matthew.

During the meeting, the commissioners also:                                                                                                           

  • Approved, with a 5-2 vote, the McHugh Fuller Group as counsel to pursue litigation against opioid manufacturers and distributors. A resolution was also adopted declaring the opioid crisis a public nuisance.
  • Heard a presentation on the Pathways for Prosperity Comprehensive Action Plan and passed a resolution in support of the initiative.
  • Held a public hearing and heard a presentation about the 2018 draft Community Development Action Plan.
  • Convened governing board meetings for both the Overhills and Norcress Water and Sewer Districts and approved rate structures for both.
  • Recognized the Fayetteville/Cumberland County Crimestoppers for receiving the 2017 Productivity Award by the Southeastern Crimestoppers Association.
  • Recognized retired Cumberland County Public Library & Information Center employee Lisa O’Connor for her years of service.

The meeting’s agenda is available online at The meeting will be rebroadcast on Fayetteville/Cumberland Educational TV (FCETV), Spectrum Channel 5, Wednesday at 7 p.m. and Friday at 10:30 a.m. The meeting can also be viewed online at

The Board of Commissioners meets twice a month. The meetings are held the first Monday of the month at 9 a.m. and the third Monday of the month at 6:45 p.m. in Room 118 of the Judge E. Maurice Braswell Courthouse at 117 Dick St.