News Releases

Decision on Human Services Governance Moved to May 21

May 07, 2018

During their regular meeting today, the Board of Commissioners decided unanimously to delay a decision on whether to change the governance of Cumberland County’s health and human services agencies until their May 21 meeting, which starts at 6:45 p.m.

The commissioners heard a presentation and discussed the available options for governing the Departments of Social Services and Public Health. The four options are:

  • Maintain separate Social Services and Public Health Departments with separate governing boards
  • Maintain separate departments and assume control of the DSS Board and/or Board of Health
  • Consolidate both departments and appoint a Consolidated Human Services Agency Board
  • Consolidate both departments and serve as the Consolidated Human Services Agency Board

Once the board decides whether to create a consolidated human services department or maintain separate departments, they will vote on the board governance structure.

In other action, commissioners approved forwarding a resolution in support of the County’s state legislative priorities to the Cumberland County General Assembly delegation after a request to change the county’s local occupancy tax legislation was removed.

During the meeting, the commissioners recognized:                            

  • Brenda Reid Jackson for being named the DSS Director of the Year by the North Carolina Association of County Directors of Social Services.
  • Finance Director Vicki Evans on receiving the Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting for the County’s comprehensive annual financial report.
  • The Public Information Office for receiving four North Carolina City & County Communicators Excellence in Communications Awards.

The meeting’s agenda is available online at The meeting will be rebroadcast on Fayetteville/Cumberland Educational TV (FCETV), Spectrum Channel 5, Wednesday at 7 p.m. and Friday at 10:30 a.m. The meeting can also be viewed online at

The Board of Commissioners meets twice a month. The meetings are held the first Monday of the month at 9 a.m. and the third Monday of the month at 6:45 p.m. in Room 118 of the Judge E. Maurice Braswell Courthouse at 117 Dick St.