News Releases

Commissioners Elect Committee Chairs for 2018

Feb 01, 2018

FAYETTEVILLEThe three standing committees of the Cumberland County Board of Commissioners met today and the first order of business at each meeting was to elect a chairman.


Finance Committee

Commissioner Jimmy Keefe is the new chairman of the Finance Committee. The other committee members are Commissioners Glenn Adams and Marshall Faircloth.


During the meeting, the Finance Committee discussed joining other counties in filing litigation against opioid wholesale drug distributors. To date, 21 North Carolina counties have filed or are in the process of filing lawsuits. The first step is a resolution that has been placed on the Feb. 5 Board of Commissioners agenda declaring the opioid crisis a public nuisance which must be abated for the benefit of Cumberland County and its residents.


In other business, the committee approved contractual changes to an economic development incentives agreement with Campbell Soup Supply Company for a project in the Cedar Creek Business Park. The changes, which include listing DHL as the project operator and job creator, will go before the full Board of Commissioners on Feb. 5.


Policy Committee

Larry Lancaster, the chairman of the Board of Commissioners, was elected to chair the Policy Committee, which also includes Commissioners Michael Boose and Charles Evans.


The Policy Committee heard updates on services provided at the Public Health Center by Stedman Wade Health Services and Assistant County Manager Duane Holder updated the committee about the notification process for abnormal cervical screenings conducted between 2011-2015. To date, 81 percent of patients have responded.


The committee also directed the County Attorney to work with the Sheriff’s Office and other County departments to develop a plan for nuisance and abatement for an area along Highway 301 near the Crown Complex and to bring a report back to the committee in March.


Facilities Committee

Commissioner Glenn Adams was re-elected as the chairman of the Facilities Committee. The other members are Commissioners Michael Boose and Jeannette Council.


The committee approved parking lot improvements to various county buildings and a contract for a retaining wall project at the Crown Coliseum. At the request of the Town of Spring Lake, the committee approved transferring property at 2122 Lillington Highway along the Little River to the town for use by the Spring Lake Fire Department for water rescue operations. The County acquired the property in 1999 with federal funds as a Hazard Mitigation project following hurricane flooding.


These items will go before the full board of commissioners for final approval.


The board’s committee meetings are held the first Thursday of each month starting at 8:30 a.m. in Room 546 of the Judge E. Maurice Braswell Courthouse. Agendas and minutes are available online at