News Releases

Memorial Program to Honor Emergency Services Workers

Oct 10, 2017

Cumberland County Emergency Services
Contact: Randy Beeman, Director
Telephone: 910-678-7688

Contact: Fayetteville Fire Department 
Battalion Chief David Richtmeyer 
Telephone: 910-433-1342

FAYETTEVILLE – Cumberland County Emergency Services, the Fayetteville Fire Department and the Fire Chief’s Association of Cumberland County will take part in a memorial service on Oct. 14 at 11 a.m. to honor firefighters and EMS workers who have sacrificed their lives serving the residents of Cumberland County and Fort Bragg.

The service will be held at the Emergency Services Memorial, located on the campus of Fayetteville Technical Community College, 2201 Hull Rd., next to Cumberland Hall. The memorial service is open to the public. The ceremony will include reading of the names of fallen first responders, laying of a memorial wreath and a flyover by a Cape Fear Valley Health LifeLink helicopter.

The names of the first responders listed on the memorial are: Joseph E. Boles, Paul I. Boyer III, William I. Capps, Frank R. Echevarria, Luther P. Horne, Ferrell D. Hood, Jesse M. Jones, Steve E. Russell Jr., David C. Sharp II, Jesse U. Shockley Jr. and John C. Tyner.

Memorial organizers will also recognize members of local agencies who died while an active member of their department, but not in the line of duty.

Anyone who wishes to purchase a brick or have a brick placed on the memorial walkway can go to and click on the “Honor Guard” tab or contact Fayetteville Fire Battalion Chief David Richtmeyer at or at 910-433-1342.

For more information, contact Cumberland County Emergency Services Director Randy Beeman at 910-678- 7688 or Fayetteville Fire Battalion Chief David Richtmeyer at 910-433-1342.