Citizens' Academy

The Cumberland County Citizens’ Academy is an annual program that helps participants gain a better understanding of what county government does and how the various departments play a vital role in the community.

Citizens' Academy will be held April 2 through May 7 on six consecutive Tuesday nights at various County facilities. Class size is limited, and academy slots are filled on a first-come, first-serve basis. Participants are asked to commit to attending all six classes.

The Citizens’ Academy is part of the County’s strategic goal to educate, inform and engage employees, citizens, elected and appointed officials through effective and efficient communications.

Application, Qualification and Instructions

You must be a Cumberland County resident to apply.

Please complete the application and return to on Jon Soles, Public Information Specialist, P.O. Box 1829, Fayetteville, NC, 28302-1829; FAX to 910-678-7717; or email to


April 2


Room 118
117 Dick Street

6 - 9 p.m.



Session 1: County Government Overview
Board of Commissioners – Chairwoman Jeannette Council
County Management – Amy Cannon
Budget – Melissa Cardinali
Register of Deeds – J. Lee Warren Jr.

Sally Shutt – Public Information Office

April 9

Cooperative Extension

301 E. Mountain Dr.




6 - 9 p.m.



Session 2: Crown Complex, Cooperative Extension, Soil & Water District

Crown Complex – James Graftstrom

Pre-Trial Release – Caroline Melvin

Cooperative Extension – Lisa Childers

Soil & Water District – Donna Foster


April 16

Department of Social Services

Conference Room

1225 Ramsey St.



6 - 9 p.m.



Session 3: Social Services

Social Services – Brenda Jackson

Community Development – Dee Taylor

Veterans Services – Monishia Bland

Emergency Services – Gene Booth

Board of Elections – Terri Robertson


April 23

Historic Courthouse

130 Gillespie St.


6 - 9 p.m.



Session 4: Solid Waste Tour, Engineering
Landfill Tour – Amanda Bader

Engineering & Infrastructure – Jeffery Brown

Planning & Inspections – Joel Strickland

Child Support – James McQueen


April 30

Health Department Auditorium
3rd floor

1235 Ramsey St.


6 - 9 p.m.



Session 5: Public Health

Public Health – Rod Jenkins

Animal Control – Elaine Smith

Tax Administration – TBA

Parks & Recreation

Workforce Development

May 7

Headquarters Library
300 Maiden Lane.


6 - 9 p.m.



Session 6: Public Library Graduation
Public Library – Jody Risacher

Information Services – TBA

Finance – Vicki Evans

Graduation – Chairwoman Jeannette Council


Contact Us

117 Dick Street
Fayetteville, NC 28301

Phone:  910-437-1921

Director: Sally Shutt
Communications & Outreach Coordinator
Kellie Tomita

Public Information Specialist
Jon Soles

Graphic Design Information Specialist II
Claudia Sievers

Graphic Design Information Specialist I
Tristan Bailey

Graphic Design Information Specialist I
Kim Brown

Administrative Support
Cheribeth Thomas