Commissioner Bio

Larry L. Lancaster

Mailing Address:
PO Box 1829
Fayetteville, NC 28302
Term Expiration:
December 2022
Larry L. Lancaster was elected to the Cumberland County Board of Commissioners as an at-large representative in 2014 and served as the board’s vice chairman in 2017 and chairman in 2018. His current term expires in 2022. Mr. Lancaster is a member of the Cape Fear Valley Hospital System Board of Trustees and is a current or former Board of Commissioner liaison to Civic Center Commission, the Sheriff’s Office, the ABC Board and the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board. He has served on the Board of Commissioners’ Facilities, Finance and Policy committees and the Mayors’ Coalition.

Mr. Lancaster was born in Cumberland County and graduated from Massey Hill High School. He received B.S, M.A, and ED.S degrees from East Carolina University. Mr. Lancaster was a teacher with the Cumberland County Schools and taught at J.W. Coon Elementary, Lewis Chapel Junior High, Massey Hill High, and Douglas Byrd High. He was Assistant Principal at Pine Forest Junior High, Spring Lake Junior High and Principal at Massey Hill Junior High, Margaret Willis Elementary and Douglas Byrd Junior High. Mr. Lancaster retired in 1992 with 33 years of educational experience with the Cumberland County Schools.

Following his retirement, Mr. Lancaster served as the Coordinator of the Small Business Center at Fayetteville Technical Community College and adjunct professor at Methodist College. He was elected to Cumberland County School Board in 1996 and served for 18 years as District 4 representative.

Mr. Lancaster’s civic activities include past chairman of the Cumberland County Crown Civic Center Board and member of the Board of Directors, member of the State Employees Credit Union Advisory Board and member of the Loan Review Committee, past member of Cumberland County Area Mental Health Board, past district chairman of the Boy Scouts of America, life member of the PTA and recipient of the Order of the Long Leaf Pine.

Mr. Lancaster’s professional awards and activities include the North Carolina School Boards Association’s Award of Distinction, member of the All-State School Board, past member of the North Carolina School Boards Association Board of Directors, immediate past president of the North Carolina School Boards Association, past member and chairman of the Cumberland County School Board, past member of the North Carolina High School Athletic Association and past member of the Governor’s Advisory Board for Business Technology Alliance.

Mr. Lancaster is a member of Westminster Presbyterian Church and is also a lay speaker. He is married to Debra Fields Lancaster and together they have two children and three grandchildren.

Contact Us

117 Dick Street
Room 561
Fayetteville, NC 28301

Phone: 910-678-7771
Fax: 910-678-7770

Chairman: W. Marshall Faircloth

Clerk to the Board:
Candice White

Email all commissioners:

Mailing Address:
PO Box 1829
Fayetteville, NC 28302-1829